Apr
24
Clerk fights off armed criminal, The Dallas Morning News, Dallas, Texas 04/22/14

An armed robber entered Lisa’s Beer and Wine convenience store in Dallas, Texas and ordered the clerk to hand over some money. The clerk complied by giving roughly $ 300 to the criminal. The robber then ordered the clerk to get on his knees, as the thief took a pack of cigarettes. The clerk responded to this command by retrieving a gun and firing at the criminal, striking him once in the hand and causing him to flee. 
NRA-ILA News

Feb
07
Mother of two defends family from criminal wielding a machete and shotgun, WOOD, Grand Rapids, Mich. January 31, 2014

A mother of two was upstairs at home with her children in Iona County, Mich. when she heard a suspicious noise coming from the first floor. The woman retrieved a gun, went to the top of the stairs, and spotted a masked criminal armed with a machete and a shotgun through a window next to the home’s front door. The armed homeowner raised the firearm at the criminal, prompting the would-be intruder to retreat from the door.
Eventually police arrived on the scene and captured the suspect, following a brief chase. In an interview with a local media outlet following the incident, the armed mother stated, “I honestly think the gun saved my life.” 
NRA-ILA News

Jan
16
Cook County Gives Up On Stopping Crime – Considers Passing Law to Punish the Victim Instead of the Criminal!

Today, Cook County Commissioners trotted out their latest in a series of affronts to law-abiding gun owners: an ordinance that does not even attempt to go after the criminal, but – literally — makes the victims of crime pay!  The proposed ordinance, sponsored by County Commissioners Toni Preckwinkle, Jesus Garcia, John P. Daley, Edwin Reyes and Larry Suffredin, says that after 48 hours of when the firearm should have been known to be either lost or stolen, the victim of the gun theft is in violation.  If a theft of a firearm is not reported to Cook County and local law enforcement entities are not notified within this arbitrary period of time, law-abiding gun owners will have to pay a fine ranging from $ 1,000 to $ 2,000 – on top of being robbed already!   This penalty would apply not only to residents of Cook County wherever the loss, destruction, or theft took place, but to any person who owns or possesses a firearm and resides outside of Cook County who loses, destroys, transfers or is robbed of the firearm in Cook County.
NRA-ILA News